

ORDER PAPER

OF

THE HONOURABLE THE HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022–2027

SIXTY-SIXTH SITTING

at

10.00 o'clock a.m.

on

Tuesday, 6th February, 2024 pursuant to Standing Order 6. 9

The First Meeting of the First Session of the Parliament of 2022-2027 was held on 4th February, 2022

MANAGEMENT COMMISSION OF PARLIAMENT

(Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10 – Section 3(4))

The following are ex officio Members of the Commission:

His Honour A. E. Holder, S.C. (Chairman), Hon. Miss M. A. Mottley, S.C. and Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw.

Section 3(4) of the Parliament (Administration) Act, Cap. 10.

The following are appointed Members of the Commission:

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P. and Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

SESSIONAL SELECT COMMITTEES

COMMITTEE OF PRIVILEGES

To consider and report to the Honourable the House of Assembly on all matters which involve the privileges of the Honourable the House of Assembly.

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour A. E. Holder, S.C. (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Hon. K. D. M. Humphrey, Mr. N. G. H. Rowe, J.P., Her Honour Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P. and Hon. W. A. Abrahams, S.C.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

Hon. G. P. I. Gooding-Edghill.

Appointed on 25th April, 2023.

HOUSE OF ASSEMBLY

FIRST SESSION OF 2022 – 2027

ORDER PAPER

SIXTY-SIXTH SITTING

Tuesday, 6th February, 2024

Government Printing Department

Barbados.

COMMITTEE OF PUBLIC ACCOUNTS

To examine the accounts showing the appropriation of the sums granted by Parliament to meet the public expenditure, accounts of any entities in which Government is a majority shareholder or hold a majority interest and of such other accounts laid before Parliament as the Committee may think fit.

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Leader of the Opposition (Chairman) ex officio, Mr. E. G. Hinkson, S.C., Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. C. E. Jordan, Hon. C. A. Lane, J.P., Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C. and Hon. K. D. Symmonds.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

STANDING ORDERS COMMITTEE

The Members of the Committee are:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman) ex officio, Dr. S. E. Browne, Hon. Miss. K. S. McConney, Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Hon. D. G. Sutherland, Hon. D. I. Ishmael and Hon. I. A. Weir.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

Hon. W. A. Abrahams, S.C., Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw and Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P.

Appointed on 25th April, 2023.

LIBRARY COMMITTEE

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

His Honour the Speaker (Chairman), Hon. A. R. Forde, Hon. R. R. Straughn, Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle, Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P., Hon. C. McD. Griffith and Dr. the Hon. W. F. Duguid, J.P.

Appointed on 4th February, 2022.

3

JOINT SELECT COMMITTEES (STANDING)

COMMITTEE ON GOVERNANCE AND POLICY MATTERS

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Mr. R. A. Thorne, Q.C., Dr. R. O. Springer, J.P., Mr. E. G. Hinkson, S.C. and Mr. P. R. Phillips, J.P.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON ECONOMIC AND PRODUCTIVE SECTORS

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Mr. C. D. L. Gibbs, Dr. S. E. Browne, Hon. Ms. C. S. V. Husbands and Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

COMMITTEE ON SOCIAL SECTOR AND ENVIRONMENT

The following are Members of this Joint Committee:

Ms. T. N. S-A. Moore, J.P., Hon. C. A. Lane, J.P., Her Honour Miss C. Y. Forde, J.P. and Mr. T. A. Prescod, J.P.

Appointed on 2nd May, 2023.

ORDER OF BUSINESS

(Standing Order 10)

"Unless the House otherwise directs, the business of each sitting day shall be transacted in the following order – $\,$

- (a) Formal entry of His Honour the Speaker.
- (b) Prayers.
- (c) Announcements by His Honour the Speaker.
- (d) Messages from Her Excellency the President.
- (e) Petitions.
- (f) Papers.
- (g) Government Notices.
- (h) Private Member's Notices.
- (i) Notices of Questions.
- (j) Reports from Select Committees.
- (k) First readings of Bills.
- (l) Statements by Ministers.
- (m) Congratulatory and/or obituary speeches.
- (n) Personal Explanations.
- (o) Motions for leave of absence.
- (p) Oral replies to questions.
- (q) Notices of motions for the adjournment of the House on matters of urgent public importance.
- (r) Orders of the day."

PRIVATE MEMBERS' BUSINESS

GOVERNMENT BUSINESS

7

1. Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle: To resume the debate on the Second Reading of the Cybercrime Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 1st December, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 5th December, 2023.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 11th December, 2023.

On the 30th January, Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle spoke and moved seconded by Hon. D. D. Marshall that the Bill be read a second time.

Hon. D. I. Ishmael spoke. Hon. W. A. Abrahams spoke. Further consideration of the Bill was postponed.

2. Hon. Ms. M. K-A. Caddle: To move the Second Reading of the Mutual Assistance in Criminal Matters (Amendment) Bill, 2023.

Notice of this Bill was given on 1st December, 2023.

The Bill was read a first time on 5th December, 2023.

Cognate debate with Order No. 1.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 11th December, 2023.

3. Hon. D. D. Marshall: To move the Second Reading of the Law Revision and Law Reform (Amendment) Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 23rd January, 2024.

The Bill was read a first time on 23rd January, 2024.

The Bill was published in the Official Gazette on 29th January, 2024.

QUESTIONS

4. Hon. Miss S. J. O. Bradshaw: To move the First Reading of the Transport Authority (Amendment) Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 5th February, 2024.

5. Hon. C. E. Jordan: To move the First Reading of the Labour Clauses (Concessions) Bill, 2024.

Notice of this Bill was given on 5th February, 2024.